Select Page
[adrotate group="1"]

The following article was authored by Attorney Ellis Klein, a Pennsylvania attorney with several offices in Pennsylvania and New Jersey.  Ellis is a former Senior Deputy District Attorney with experience in over 10,000 criminal cases.  More information about Ellis and his firm can be found on his website:

If you are being investigated for a sex offense you should contact an experienced Attorney immediately and not speak with anyone about the case.

Convictions for sex crimes can carry lengthy mandatory prison sentences and large fines. In addition, certain convictions require a 10 year or lifetime sexual offender’s registration requirement under Megan’s law in which the community is notified of a sexual offender’s address.

A successful defense of sex crime charges requires experience, as the defenses can be extremely complex and require immediate investigation. If you are charged with a sex crime, you are now facing a very important decision – – which attorney you will hire to represent you.

Mandatory Sentencing upon conviction

The following charges require mandatory minimum imprisonment upon conviction:

  • Rape: 5 to 10 years
  • IDSI: 5 to 10 years
  • Aggravated Indecent
  • Assault of Minor: 5 years

Megan’s Law

Pennsylvania’s Megan’s Law requires the Pennsylvania State Police to maintain a registry of persons who reside, work, or attend school in Pennsylvania and who have been convicted of certain sex offenses in Pennsylvania or another jurisdiction. Additionally, the Pennsylvania State Police is required to make certain information on registered sex offenders available to the public through an Internet website.

The following information is available on the website for both registered Sex Offenders and Sexually Violent Predators:

  • Name and all known aliases;
  • Year of birth;
  • The street address, city, municipality, county, and zip code of all residences, and where applicable the name of the prison or other place of confinement;
  • The street address, city, municipality, county, zip code and name of any institution or location at which the offender is enrolled as a student;
  • The city, municipality, county, and zip code of any employment location;
  • A photograph of the offender, which shall be updated not less than annually;
  • A physical description of the offender, including gender, height, weight, eye color, hair color and race;
  • Any identifying marks, including scars, birthmarks, and tattoos;
  • The license plate number and description of any vehicle owned or registered to the offender;
  • Whether the offender is currently compliant with registration requirements;
  • Whether the victim is a minor;
  • A description of the offense, which triggered registration; and
  • The date of conviction, if available.

Offenses which require a person to register

A person convicted of or pleading guilty to any of the below sexually violent offenses is required to register as a Megan’s Law Offender:

  • Rape, 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121
  • Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse, 18 Pa.C.S. § 3123
  • Sexual Assault, 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1
  • Institutional Sexual Assault, 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.2
  • Aggravated Indecent Assault, 18 Pa.C.S. § 3125
  • Indecent Assault, where the offense is a misdemeanor of the first degree, 18 Pa.C.S. § 3126
  • Kidnapping, where the victim is a minor, 18 Pa.C.S. § 2901
  • Luring a Child into a Motor Vehicle, 18 Pa.C.S. § 2910
  • Incest, where the victim is a minor, 18 Pa.C.S. § 4302
  • Prostitution, where the offender promotes prostitution of a minor, 18 Pa.C.S. § 5902(b)
  • Obscene and Other Sexual Materials & Performances, where the victim is a minor, 18 Pa.C.S. § 5903(a)(3), (4), (5), and (6)
  • Sexual Abuse of Children, 18 Pa.C.S. § 6312
  • Unlawful Contact with a Minor, 18 Pa.C.S. § 6318
  • Sexual Exploitation of Children, 18 Pa.C.S. § 6320
  • Attempt to commit any of the offenses listed above
  • A conviction of, a plea of guilty to, or an adjudication of delinquency of, an offense in another jurisdiction equivalent to any of the offenses listed above; or if they are required to register under a sex offender statute in the jurisdiction where convicted, sentenced or court-martialed.

If you are being investigated for a sex offense you should contact an experienced Attorney immediately and not speak with anyone about the case

[adrotate group="1"]