Select Page
[adrotate banner="12"]

Sounds like a blues song…

“I got a speeding ticket in Louisiana.” Doesn’t this sound like a blues song? Well, it is not. Let’s agree that no one likes getting a speeding ticket, but it can happen to anyone, even if you have won an award for being the world’s best driver. So, if a traffic cop pulls you over and issues you a speeding ticket in Louisiana, you will worry about how it affects you and your life.

In 2013, Louisiana witnessed 651 fatal car accidents and around 703 drivers lost their lives. Furthermore, in 2013, nearly 53% of fatally injured drivers in the state were not wearing their seatbelts at the time of their accident, according to the statistics available from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Speeding laws in Louisiana

Louisiana is one of the states in the US with absolute speed limit laws. You cannot work around this law. If the speed limit on a particular street is 40 mph and your speed is 41 mph, then you are violating the law and the traffic cop could stop you and issue you a speeding ticket, although the likelihood of this is pretty low. You can drive 5 mph over the speed limit for the most part anywhere and probably even a little more before you need to think about this as long as you are still driving safely, using your turn signal, and cooperating with other drivers.

The speeding law states the following: “No person shall drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and potential hazards then existing, having due regard for the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and the condition of the weather.” [LA §32:64(A)]

There are speed limits for different areas. These limits are as follows:

  • 70 miles per hour along other interstates and highways with controlled access
  • 65 miles per hour on multi-lane highways that are divided have no controlled or partial access
  • 60 miles per hour on freeways and urban interstates
  • 55 miles per hour on undivided two-lane roads and other highways

The speed limit in school zones and residential area vary and usually are posted so that drivers know at what speed to drive.

Minimum speeding laws too

Louisiana also has a minimum speed laws. These laws state the following: “No person shall operate a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.” [Louisiana § 32:64(B)]  “A person who is operating a motor vehicle on a multilane highway at a speed slower than 10 mph than the posted speed limit shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right hand curb or edge of the roadway.” [Louisiana § 32:71(B)(2)]

It has been observed that police officers usually do not pull over a driver if they are going less than five miles an hour over the speed limit as already mentioned. This leniency is due to difference in tire size, accounting for errors in speed detecting devices and difference in calibration of speedometers in vehicles. Nonetheless, the moment you cross the speed limit, you are violating the speeding laws in Louisiana and can be issued a speeding ticket.

Problem Driver Pointer System

It is prudent to remember that Louisiana does follow a point system that is prevalent in many states. Instead, it provides information to the National Driver Registry of suspensions, cancellations, traffic violations, revocations, and so on. Hence, your traffic violations will be available on this registry for any state authority to check. If you have excessive violations to your name, your license can be suspended

The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles will keep a record of your traffic violations for five years and this will be public record; and a DWI violation is maintained for 10 years.

Speeding penalties in Louisiana

As stated earlier, if you accumulate too many traffic violations, your license will get suspended. In fact, each subsequent infraction attracts a harsher penalty. Typically, license suspension is the most common penalty meted out. Once your license is suspended or revoked, you will not be able to drive your vehicle until you fulfill certain requirements. It is only after that the authorities will return your license.

Remember, if you get a speeding ticket and pay the fine, your insurance company will hike up the premium and this will cause your insurance payments to rise significantly.

In case you are younger than 21 and love driving like a Formula 1 driver or Dominic Toretto, you could end up with a restricted license or it being suspended.

  • If this is your first offense, your license could get suspended or revoked for 180 days.
  • In case it is your second offense, you can kiss your license goodbye for 365 days. Wow!

As a commercial driver, if you receive a speeding ticket, the law states that you have informed your employer about this infraction within 30 days.

Defensive driving course

If your case goes to court, the judge may decide to let you finish a defensive driving course. This decision is based on your driving history and the reason for getting a speeding ticket. A defensive driving course can sometimes be the best option as you can avoid adding points to your driver’s license and the court will also dismiss the speeding ticket.

How to fight speeding tickets in Louisiana

The absolute speeding law in Louisiana makes it difficult to fight speeding tickets. The moment you pay the fine, it is viewed as an admission of guilt. However, you can fight the speeding ticket in the following manner:

  • Written Declaration Trial: Rather than appearing in court, you and your lawyer write your individual argument and send it to court or you can write it yourself if you want but you may want some legal help here. Based on the two written accounts (yours and the police officers), the judge decides whether you are guilty, not guilty, or can be let off with a reduced fine.
  • Go to Court: If you go to court, you will need a qualified and astute traffic attorney at your side to fight your case. This could be the best option if you are facing license revocation or you have multiple speeding tickets to your name.

Regardless of which method you choose to fight speeding tickets in Louisiana, it is prudent to hire a Louisiana traffic attorney, who specializes in fighting speeding tickets. With a professional at your side, it will offer you peace of mind and also increase your chances of winning a favorable judgment.

You can find a committed and judicious traffic attorney with the BernieSez system, which makes it easy and convenient for you to choose the perfect traffic attorney. Just upload a picture of your speeding ticket on the site along with a few details and you will have Louisiana traffic attorneys bidding to fight your speeding ticket in Louisiana. You can select the legal pro that best suits your needs.  Tap or click the button/link below to get started.  It’s easy and a free service.

[adrotate banner="12"]